HISTORY OF THE BAND

Keane2019-bbc

The band has come a long way from its beginnings to this day, from self-released EPs to platinum records, from small bar gigs to large venues around the world, from a trio to a quartet, from ambitious young musicians to accomplished and fulfilled artists!

Keane's story is an emotional one, with a twist now and then. Tim Rice-Oxley (piano), Tom Chaplin (vocals, guitar), Richard Hughes (drums) and Jesse Quin (bass) know how to make sparks fly. After a long hiatus and years of uncertainty, they are back with Cause and Effect, an album that will hopefully be the first of a second series. A second phase in the band's history, which will undoubtedly be less dense, more spontaneous and adapted to their life as fathers. No more albums and tours, but listening to each other and enjoying, without knowing what will happen next. One thing is certain, Keane has not finished surprising us.

The band's story began in 1997 with a group of friends in Battle, southern England. After a difficult first few years, the tide turned in 2002 when they were spotted by the independent label Fierce Panda, who signed their first contract. The first single 'Everybody's changing' was released, followed by 'This is the last time', which was well received. This allowed the band to increase their radio play and concerts, and to sign with the Island label of the "major" Universal. The year 2004 was the year of consecration for Keane, with the release of the album 'Hopes and Fears' which brought them success in the UK and around the world. The requests and tours followed and everything was going well for the band.

Without taking time to catch their breath, Keane released their second album 'Under the Iron Sea' in 2006, whose darker feel echoed the difficult times Keane were going through at the time, linked to singer Tom Chaplin's drug problems. Subsequent touring and singles production were impacted but the band managed to turn things around and ended 2007 with a triumphant arena tour of the UK. This time the band took time to rest and relax and two years later released their third album 'Perfect Symmetry'.

This third album surprised the fans of the first hour and some critics but opened a much more joyful period for the band, which toured the world in the years that followed its release. This period ends with the release of the experimental EP 'Night Train', a collection of tracks and collaborations made during this period that gives a bric-a-brac feel to this mini-album released in 2010.

After several years as a three-piece, Tim, Tom and Richard were joined by Jesse Quin on bass. Initially started as a simple collaboration, the chemistry was made and Jesse finally joined the band. The four of them continue to write the new pages of Keane's history.

In 2012, they release their 4th studio album, entitled "Strangeland"... 4 years after the previous album "Perfect Symmetry"! A break that sounds like a return to their roots for the band, both from a personal and musical point of view. The rediscovered piano pop melodies reconcile both the fans of the first hour and conquer new hearts throughout the world. Keane continues to distil that unspeakable joy that every listen brings!

In 2013, the band released its first Best-Of album and went on a short tour. But the quartet is a bit out of breath. Jesse became a father for the second time, Tom wanted to release a solo album... So it was by mutual agreement that the band decided to take a "long break", in order to develop their personal and artistic lives.

After many years of going their separate ways, the group seems to have broken up for good. But that's without counting the ties that keep them going. They reunited for a concert at Battle in 2018. Shortly before, Tim shared with them the songs he wrote, inspired by his painful divorce. That's all it took for the joy of playing together to be rekindled, and the seeds of Cause And Effect to be planted. In September 2019, the band's 5th album was released, followed by a tour through the UK, Europe, Latin America and North America, unfortunately cut short by the Covid-19 pandemic.

BAND'S MEMBER

  • Tom Chaplin
  • Richard Hugues
  • Jesse Quin
  • Tim Rice-Oxley
TC_from_j.j.quin_Instagram

Born on 8 March 1979

Tom is a childhood friend of Tim's, and in 1997 he joined the Lotus Eaters trio (Tim, Richard and Dominic Scott), as guitarist and singer. He will keep Keane's microphone, and we know the rest...

In addition to guitar and vocals, he also plays piano and organ on some live tracks.

Loud and joking, Tom knows how to set the mood on stage and backstage. His voice and his jackets always dazzle us. His introverted nature has unfortunately led him down darker paths of drug and alcohol addiction, notably in 2006 and 2015. 

In 2016, he released his first solo album "The Wave", inspired by his difficult path to sobriety. In 2017 he also released a Christmas album entitled "Twelve Tales of Christmas".

He is sometimes active on Instagram or Twitter, where he posts a few jokes, or gets angry at trolls, depending on the mood. A doting father, he remains discreet about his private life, but his passion for golf and his love for his home are no longer a secret.

After a few years, the voice of Keane has become more mature, more confident, and sounds more fulfilled than ever!

Richard Hugues -Pinterest

Born on 8 September 1975

Richard met Tom, Tim and Dominic at Tonbridge School in Kent. Colour-blind from birth, he was a secretary at the BBC and a geography teacher before the group's success.

He is the drummer for Keane, but any fan of the band would tell you "more than that". Down to earth and infinitely kind, Richard is Keane's "customers service", always friendly and available off stage, and with an excellent memory!

Very active on social networks, especially Twitter, he communicates on many things. A coffee lover, cat lover, cyclist, climber, photographer, he is also an active member of Amnesty International and follows politics closely.

He became a father in 2016. Over the years, he has remained true to himself and has not lost any of his talents. A "gem", as they would say.

j.j.quin_Instagram

Born on 3 September 1981

With a mother who is a singer and a father who is a sound engineer, Jesse was immersed in the world of music from an early age.

In 2007, Jesse was a sound technician during Keane's tours and a member of another band, "Jesse Quin & The Mets". It was at a War Child concert in November of that year that Jesse joined the band on stage to play "Under Pressure", a song requiring a bass player.

This was the first of many concerts. He will indeed continue to accompany the band during the creation and the concerts of Perfect Symmetry and Night Train, before officially joining the band on... February 3rd 2011 !

A talented musician (he sings, and plays guitar, synth, bass, and probably more!), Jesse is appreciated from the beginning by the trio for his artistic contribution, but also his humour and mischievousness which bring freshness and novelty in the stressful atmosphere of Keane's dazzling success. It was therefore natural that Keane would become a quartet, long before they were officially integrated.

In 2010, he formed the country/folk influenced band Mt Desolation with Tim and other musicians, which produced two albums: "Mt Desolation" (2010) and "When The Night Calls" (2018).

Jesse is also the founder of an arts centre, located on an abandoned US Air Force base in southern England: Old Jet.

A father of two, Jesse is a keen photographer and regularly posts on Instagram.

Over the years, Jesse has been an integral part of the group, finding his place as a talent and an indispensable friend.

TimRiceOxley-InstagramA VENIR

HISTOIRE DU GROUPE

Keane2019-bbc

Que de chemin parcouru par le groupe depuis leurs débuts jusqu’à ce jour, depuis les maxis autoproduits aux disques de platine, des concerts étriqués dans les bars aux grandes salles du monde entier, d’un trio à un quatuor, de jeunes musiciens ambitieux à des artistes accomplis et épanouis !

L’histoire de Keane est riche en émotions, avec toujours un grain de surprise. Tim Rice-Oxley (piano), Tom Chaplin (chant, guitare), Richard Hugues (batterie) et Jesse Quin(basse) savent faire des étincelles. Après un long hiatus et des années d’incertitudes, ils sont de retour avec Cause and Effect, un album qui on l’espère, sera le premier d’une deuxième série. Une deuxième phase dans l’histoire du groupe, qui sera sans doute moins dense, plus spontanée et adaptée à leur vie de pères de famille. Plus questions d’enchaîner les albums et les tournées, mais d’être à l’écoute les uns des autres, et de profiter, sans savoir quelle sera la suite. Une chose est sûre, Keane n’a pas fini de nous surprendre.

C’est en 1997 que débute l’histoire du groupe avec un groupe d’amis, à Battle, dans le sud de l’Angleterre. Après des premières années difficiles, le vent tourne en 2002 où ils sont repérés par le label indépendant Fierce Panda, qui leur fait signer leur premier contrat. Le premier single « Everybody’s changing » sort alors, suivi de « This is the last time », qui recoivent un accueil positif. Cela permet au groupe de multiplier les passages radios et les concerts, et de signer chez le lable Island de la « major » Universal. L’année 2004 sera l’année de la consécration pour Keane, avec la sortie de l’album « Hopes and Fears » qui leur apporte le succès au Royaume-Uni et à travers le monde. Les sollicitations et les tournées s’enchaînent alors et tout est au beau fixe pour le groupe.

Sans prendre le temps de reprendre leur souffle Keane sort dans la foulée son deuxième album « Under the iron sea » en 2006, dont la touche plus sombre fait écho aux moments difficiles que traverse Keane à cette époque, liés aux problèmes de drogues du chanteur Tom Chaplin. Les tournées et productions des singles à suivre seront impactées mais le groupe arrivera à redresser la barre et finira l’année 2007 par une tournée triomphale des grandes salles (arena) au Royaume-Uni. Cette fois-ci le groupe prend le temps de se poser et se reposer et c’est 2 ans plus tard que sort le troisième album « Perfect Symmetry ».

Ce troisième album décomplexé surprend les fans de la première heure et certains critiques mais ouvre un période beaucoup plus joyeuse pour le groupe, qui tourne à travers le monde dans les années qui suivent sa sortie. Cette période se termine par la sortie du maxi expérimental « Night train », collection de titres et collaborations réalisés pendant cette période qui donne un côté de bric et de broc à ce mini-album sorti en 2010.

Après plusieurs années à trois, Tim, Tom et Richard sont rejoints par Jesse Quin à la basse. D’abord entamé comme une simple collaboration, l’alchimie s’est faite et Jesse a finalement rejoint le groupe. C’est donc à 4 que continuent de s’écrire les nouvelles pages de l’histoire de Keane.

En 2012 sort leur 4ème album studio, intitulé « Strangeland »… 4 ans après l’album précédent « Perfect Symmetry » ! Une pause qui sonne comme un retour aux sources pour le groupe, tant d’un point de vue personnel que musical. Les mélodies piano pop retrouvées réconcilient à la fois les fans de la première heure et conquérent de nouveaux cœurs à travers le monde. Keane continue de distiller ce bonheur indicible que chaque écoute procure !

En 2013, le groupe sort son premier Best-Of accompagné d’une petite tournée. Mais le quatuor est un peu essoufflé. Jesse devient papa pour la seconde fois, Tom souhaite sortir un album en solo… C’est donc d’un commun accord que le groupe décide de faire une pause « longue durée », afin de s’épanouir dans leurs vies personnelles et artistiques.

Après de longues années à naviguer chacun de leurs côtés, le groupe semble définitivement éclaté. Mais c’est sans compter les liens qui continuent de les faire vibrer. Ils se retrouvent à l’occasion d’un concert à Battle en 2018. Peu avant, Tim leur a partagé les chansons qu’il a écrites, inspirées par son divorce douloureux. Il n’en faut pas plus pour que le plaisir de jouer ensemble renaisse, et que les graines de Cause And Effect soit plantées. En septembre 2019, le 5e album du groupe voit le jour, suivi par une tournée passant par le Royaume-Uni, l’Europe, l’Amérique Latine et l’Amérique du Nord, malheureusement écourtée par la pandémie de 2020-2021.

MEMBRES DU GROUPE

  • Tom Chaplin
  • Richard Hugues
  • Jesse Quin
  • Tim Rice-Oxley
TC_from_j.j.quin_Instagram

Né le 8 mars 1979

Tom est un ami d'enfance de Tim, et il rejoint en 1995 le trio des Lotus Eaters (Tim, Richard et Dominic Scott) en tant que guitariste. Quelques années plus tard, il prend le micro de Keane, et on connait la suite ...

En plus de la guitare et du chant, il joue également du piano et de l'orgue sur certains morceaux en live.

Bruyant et blagueur, Tom sait mettre l'ambiance sur scène et dans les coulisses. Sa nature introvertie l'a malheureusement amené sur des chemins plus sombres d'addiction à la drogue et l'alcool, notamment en 2006 et 2015. 

En 2016, il sort son premier album solo "The Wave", inspiré de son chemin difficile vers la sobriété. Il sort également en 2017 un album de Noël intitulé "Twelve Tales of Christmas".

Il est parfois actif sur Instagram ou Twitter, où il publie notamment quelques blagues, ou bien s'énerve contre les trolls, selon l'humeur. Il reste discret sur sa vie privée, mais sa passion pour le golf et son amour pour son foyer ne sont plus un secret.

Après quelques années, la voix de Keane a gagné en maturité, en confiance, et semble plus épanouie que jamais !

Richard Hugues -Pinterest

Né le 8 septembre 1975

Richard rencontre Tom, Tim et Dominic à l'école Tonbridge School (Kent). Daltonien de naissance, il sera secrétaire à la BBC, ou encore professeur de géographie, avant le succès du groupe.

Il est le batteur de Keane, mais tous les fans du groupe vous diraient "plus que ça". Les pieds sur terre et d'une gentillesse infinie, Richard est le SAV de Keane, toujours avenant et disponible en dehors de la scène, et d'une excellente mémoire !

Très actif sur les réseaux sociaux, et notamment Twitter, il communique sur beaucoup de choses. Amateur de café, passionné des chats, de cyclisme, d'escalade, de photographie, il est aussi un membre actif de Amnesty International et suit de près la politique.

Il est devenu papa en 2016. Au fil des années, il est resté fidèle à lui même et n'a pas perdu de ses talents. Un "mec en or", comme on dit.

j.j.quin_Instagram

Né le 3 septembre 1981

D'une maman chanteuse et d'un père ingénieur du son, Jesse baigne très tôt dans le monde la musique.

En 2007, Jesse est technicien son pendant les tournées de Keane et membre d'un autre groupe, "Jesse Quin & The Mets". C'est à l'occasion d'un concert pour War Child en novembre de la même année que Jesse rejoindra le groupe sur scène, pour jouer "Under Pressure", morceau nécessitant un bassiste.

Ce fut le premier concert d'une longue série. Il continuera en effet d'accompagner le groupe pendant la création et les concerts de Perfect Symmetry et Night Train, avant d'officiellement intégrer le groupe le... 3 février 2011 !

Musicien de talent (il chante, et joue de la guitare, du synthé, de la basse, et sans doute plus encore !), Jesse est apprécié dès le début par le trio pour son apport artistique, mais aussi son humour et son espièglerie qui apportent fraîcheur et nouveauté dans l'ambiance stressante du succès fulgurant de Keane. C'est donc naturellement que Keane deviendra un quatuor, bien avant son intégration officielle.

En 2010, il forme avec Tim et d'autres musiciens le groupe Mt Desolation, aux influences country/folk, qui produira deux albums : "Mt Desolation"(2010) et "When The Night Calls"(2018).

Jesse est également le fondateur d'un centre d'arts, situé sur une base abandonnée de la US Air Force du sud de l'Angleterre : Old Jet.

Père de deux enfants, Jesse est amateur de photographie et publie régulièrement sur Instagram.

Durant toutes ces années, Jesse a su s'inscrire dans le ciment du groupe, y trouvant sa place comme un talent et un ami indispensable.

TimRiceOxley-Instagram A COMPLETER